Happy New Year 2014: Let’s Get Busy!

Happy New Year!!!!  This is that grand ol time of year where we all set these marvelous and grand new year’s resolutions. Then we get to somewhere around May and say screw it til next year this time. I’m kinda tired of doing that. I want to make the goals that I set be things that are actually worked on and things that I can look back on in a year’s time and say “I did that!”

I realize that my goals are way too big to be accomplished in a year. THIS is why I crash and burn before a quarter of the year is out. I read that smaller, more realistic goals tend to be ones that aer kept. So being the perfectionist that I am, I will follow that advice.

I already have a 30 to do in my 30s list….that is something that is supposed to take a decade to do. I need to work on things to better myself today. So here is my list:

  1. Lose 15 pounds. Now this is a realistic goal. I have an overall weight loss goal of 60 pounds, but that number is so….HUGE. So taking it 15 pounts at a time shouldn’t be so bad. I don’t have a diet plan except for to drink more water, eat out less and get my ass off the couch.
  2. Start off each day with a positive affirmation. I place too much negative energy in the air. I recognize this about myself so it is time to change that.
  3. Save more money. I have financial goals but no plan…so I’m just baby steps from paycheck to paycheck living. That’s not good. I am going to use the 52 week challenge where you save a dollar per week corresponding to what week it is. Baby steps….
  4. Take the MPRE and pass. Oh the ethics test….gotta have that score in order to be licensed, so I may as well knock that out and get my confidence up.
  5. Blog more!! I’m talking at least 2 posts a week. Looking at my schedule now, if I do that, you can call me Superwoman.

That’s a pretty decent goal list for 2014. Do you have any resolutions or goals for the new year? Do share!!

5 thoughts on “Happy New Year 2014: Let’s Get Busy!

  1. I’m trying to lose 27 lbs this year. I would like to do it by the end of June. We’re starting up a challenge on my blog. Feel free to enter if you’d like. I know 27 in 6 months is difficult, but I’m going to try. Best of luck to you!

    Rob

  2. Great post! I like your goals. They are all achievable. You can definitely do this if you put your mind to it. I believe that you want it, it’s just a matter of following through, and if you think about it, that’s how everything in life works. Stay focused. I would love to see you through until May and beyond! Thanks for joining us, I look forward to reading more from you.

Leave a Reply

