A Theme for 2014

There are many people out there that are choosing one word to be the theme of their year and then striving all year to be that word. I think that’s a great idea. In a world where people make a big deal about resolutions, this makes things a whole lot simpler. When thinking about that one word the year, a song came to mind (yes….my musical being came out with this one). I was watching Despicable Me 2 a couple of weeks ago and Pharrell’s Happy was a song that just stuck in my head. You can just hum it for days. Then I was watching Melissa Harris-Perry last week and they had a whole jam session to this song at the end of show. Now I can’t stop listening to it.

Happiness has been something that has been eluding me foe the past couple years. Since 2010, I have experienced incredible losses that have had me question the core of myself. I haven’t been depressed….I just haven’t been very happy. What I am realizing is that, for the most part, happiness is a choice. Happiness doesn’t just fall out of the sky. The world can’t make me happy. It starts inside me. It’s kind of hard to look yourself in the face and say “Hey Kat….it’s kinda your own fault why you are not happy.” But it’s my truth. For the better part of 2013, I have complained. Complained about my job, Complained about my going nowhere career, Complained about my weight. Just complaints. I didn’t like myself very much last year. How my boyfriend was able to deal with me is so beyond me at this point. (Side note: saying that to him last night got me a lot of hugs and cuddles….but that is another post. Basically he let me know I have been a pill but he understood. Great guy.)

So my goal is just to be happy. Pharrell loves happiness so much that he created a 24 hour music video to this song. (Don’t worry this video is only 4:07 long. Don’t wanna make you guys unhappy….see what I did there?) Whatever this life deals me, I have to handle it with joy. Nothing else will do.

Do any of you have any goal for the year? Can you break them down to one word? Isn’t this song jamming?!

 

Prototype Mama
4 thoughts on “A Theme for 2014

  1. I just wanted to make a brief comment to appreciate you for some of the stunning suggestions you are sharing at this site. My time-consuming internet research has at the end of the day been honored with really good concept to exchange with my good friends. I would say that most of us readers are truly fortunate to exist in a really good place with many wonderful individuals with insightful opinions. I feel very happy to have used the site and look forward to plenty of more enjoyable moments reading here. Thanks once again for all the details.

  2. Your boyfriend definitely sounds like a keeper! I’m so glad you’re embracing happiness in 2014. Life can get us down but focusing on what we can change and impact makes a world of difference. I’m rooting for you, Diva!

Leave a Reply

